Skip to main content

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Exchange programmes

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Other exchange programmes

Jagiellonian University welcomes students from around the world. Did you know that 10 per cent of our students are from abroad? And the tendency is growing!

If you are a student, a Ph.D. student or a teacher, you can visit us for an exchange. This page will guide you through the exchange programmes we support.

For whom: students, Ph.D. students, researchers

Bilateral agreements are signed by two parties, e.g., institutes, faculties, or universities. Among other provisions, these contracts specify the mobility requirements. If you want to visit JU, please check the application process at your University. If you are eligible for the exchange, your University will contact us and agree on the details.

There is also bilateral cooperation between countries. The National Agency for Academic Exchange supports such programmes – visit https://nawa.gov.pl/ for more information. Once you’re accepted for the programme, you can check our internal procedures at https://internationalstudents.uj.edu.pl/studenci/nawa.

For whom: students, Ph.D. students, researchers

The Central European Exchange Program for University Studies (CEEPUS) supports the academic exchange of students, Ph.D. students, and teachers by financing mobilities. The programme aims at facilitating contacts between universities around the extended Danube region: Albania, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Montenegro, Czechia, Macedonia, Moldova, Romania, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Kosovo.

CEEPUS offers:

  • short-term exchanges within academic networks,
  • short-term exchanges outside of academic networks, known as freemover mobilities,
  • short-term exchanges within summer schools and intense courses.

If you want to visit JU for a CEEPUS exchange, please check whether your University supports any CEEPUS networks: https://www.ceepus.info/content/find. Once you’ve found the relevant network, discuss mobility requirements with the CEEPUS coordinator and apply via the CEEPUS system: https://www.ceepus.info/login/login.aspx#nbb.

Here’s a list of CEEPUS coordinators at Jagiellonian University:

Faculty of Chemistry: prof. dr hab. Grzegorz Sulka (sulka@chemia.uj.edu.pl)

Faculty of Medicine: prof. dr hab. Małgorzata Bała (malgorzata.1.bala@uj.edu.pl)

Faculty of Polish Studies: prof. dr hab. Albert Gorzkowski (albert.gorzkowski@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of American Studies and Polish Diaspora: dr Anna Bartnik (anna.bartnik@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of Economics, Finance and Management: dr Judyta Lubacha (judyta.lubacha@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology: dr Marek Pawlak (marek.pawlak@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of European Studies: dr Natasza Styczyńska (natasza.styczynska@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of Geological Sciences: dr Elżbieta Machaniec (elzbieta.machaniec@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of Geography and Spatial Management: dr hab. Jarosław Działek (jarek.dzialek@uj.edu.pl), mgr Katarzyna Rotter-Jarzębińska (katarzyna.rotter@uj.edu.pl), dr Piotr Trzepacz (piotr.trzepacz@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of History: dr Adam Świątek (adam.swiatek@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of the Middle and Far East: dr Magdalena Grela-Chen (magdalena.grela@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of Philosophy: dr Błażej Skrzypulec (blazej.skrzypulec@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of Religious Studies: dr hab. Marcin Rzepka (marcin.rzepka@uj.edu.pl)

Institute of Romance Studies: mgr Serafina Santoliquido (serafina.santoliquido@uj.edu.pl)

Unit for Spanish Studies: mgr Magdalena Tadel (magdalena.tadel@uj.edu.pl)

Read More o

For whom: students, Ph.D. students, researchers

If your home university doesn’t have any agreement with JU, you can still visit us for individual research. The duration and programme of such stay are agreed upon individually and based on your needs and interests. Individual research stay is not a scholarship programme; hence you will not receive any allowance from JU. Additionally, tuition fees will apply if you plan to take part in courses offered at the University. The Rector determines tuition fees for an individual research stay. Please mind that they don’t cover accommodation or boarding expenses.

Application procedure

A successful application should include the following documents:

  • a written request to the head of the desired institute stating the precise time of the planned stay and motivation
  • research plan/study plan
  • curriculum vitae
  • letter of recommendation from home university
  • signed legal notice of data security for admission

Please send these documents to iso@uj.edu.pl no later than two months before the planned mobility starts. We will let you know once the application process is completed.

For whom: students, Ph.D. students, researchers

There are various other exchanges available to you, such as the William Fulbright Scholarship or the Young Scientists Programme. Although they are smaller-scale projects, we are doing our best to assist international students who visit us. If you have any questions, reach out to iso@uj.edu.pl.